Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2008, 10:52 PM
yellowline
Under the Radar
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rallymasters- Looking for Advice

I'm hoping somebody checks here...

My PCA region's rally chair position has been open for years, and I've been interested in rallies since I went on one last year. I know running a rally precludes me from participating, but I think it would be fun to drive roads and plan a rally.

I'm an engineering student, so I don't think the math involved in calculating position and the ideal time is beyond my ability. It just seems like a daunting task to organize and keep track of 30+ teams. I'm willing to try my best, but my PCA region runs things really well...they appreciate any volunteer work, but I want to be up to task. I also lack a trustworthy odometer...my 944's odo runs roughly 5% off.

I've checked for some rally books, but it seems like all the good ones are out of print.

Comments? Please PM me if you're a rallymaster or have any useful advice- I may forget to check here.
Old 03-04-2008, 06:25 PM
RallyJon
Weathergirl
Rennlist Member

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Setting up fun rallies is pretty straightforward. Depending on how much manpower you have to work checkpoints, you can do them a bunch of different ways.

One thing that's a major consideration these days is insurance. Some car insurance policies explicitly exclude "timed" events. So even though your rally may be completely legal and on public roads, if something happened a participant could be denied coverage. The solution is to skip any checkpoints that require them to stay on time. Most Porsche-type people find it more fun to go at their own pace anyway.
Old 03-06-2008, 03:25 PM
Restless
Rennlist Member

There are several challenges to setting up rally's. Making them difficult to keep the more advanced drivers interested, and making sure everyone has a chance to finish.