Rennlist Member

Received 1,390 Likes on 743 Posts

Jackpot Justice
Old 09-29-2015, 10:48 PM
LuigiVampa
WRONGLY ACCUSED!
Rennlist Member

Received 3,192 Likes on 1,565 Posts

A few years ago I slipped on some ice at my daughter's friend's house while picking her up and really f-ed up my back. Parents freaked out because they know I am a lawyer.

I finally had to tell them "its winter, there is ice and I wasn't paying attention. my fault."

Sadly, personal responsibility has gone out the window and it is always someone else's fault.

I'm certain that Paul Walker's daughter is in a better financial position than my family would be in if I dropped dead tomorrow. PW got in the car and assumed the risk.
Old 09-30-2015, 08:54 AM
Eric_Oz_S2
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

That's really terrible. There seems to be an ever increasing culture of blaming someone else when you f up. This sort of attitude is turning countries like the USA and Australia into nanny states. I do feel sorry for his daughter, but wonder what she hopes to achieve?
Old 09-30-2015, 11:15 AM
morsini
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

She hopes to hit the lottery by relying on the fact that Porsche would rather settle and pay than mount a defense. This is where the judges need to step in and throw her and her lawsuit out on their ***, because stupid should hurt!
Old 09-30-2015, 11:32 AM
Captain Slow
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SMH

I'm sure even Paul Walker himself would disapprove
Old 09-30-2015, 11:33 AM
Keith Verges - Dallas
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't know the facts or the claims - do any of you? Do each of you "assume the risk" as a passenger that the driver will not do something stupid? So every bus and plane crash is just tough noogies for all passengers?

I do think she should sue the driver; is the driver also named in the suit? I have not seen the complaint and press coverage of lawsuits is notoriously inaccurate.