New race car – What to choose

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2013, 10:33 PM
Charles A. Toupin
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New race car – What to choose

I’ve been pondering a new race car for many months now. I’ll be keeping my 944 race car because all my friends are still racing them and I like to race with them. But at some point, I’d like to race something faster, once in a while. Our 944 cars are lapping Mosport in 1:38.

For me, the most important thing in racing is competition. The more I have, the more I find it interesting. So racing against 20 or more cars is a prerequisite.

Here is a quick tour of the options I’m considering and the series pertaining to each of these cars.

1) Porsche SP996. Could build a very nice car for 55K to 75K, depending on the engine and transmission rebuilds, paint. Not a lot of cars to race with in the North East. Reliable, good looking, but the best looking out there. Looks better in race trim than in street trim. 325HP or so depending on the chosen year, 2700 lbs or so. PCA multiclass fields.

Laps Mosport in ???

2) Howe Racing Mustang for the Trans-Am Serie (American Muscle categorie). 475 hp, 2900 lbs. Reliable Emco 4 speed gearbox. Tube frame car, low tech. 600$ for the set of Goodyear slicks that have a quite long life. A brand new car can be had for 95K or less. Ease of repair of the fibreglass boby and tube frame. Up and coming categorie in the Trans-Am serie because of the low cost of operation . You can buy a seat for an entire season in a championship winning car for 100K. Car count will go up this year. Sharing the track with the quicker TA and Global GT cars.

Laps Mosport in 1:25

3) Used Trans-Am car for the TA category, the 800hp Corvette. Found a 2010 Tony Ave chassis, complete, ready to race for 110K. Same as #2, but with more expensive body (Kevlar/Carbon) , tires and brakes.

Laps Mosport in 1:18