Rennlist Discussion Forums   classifieds | membership | rennlist | photo album    
sponsors | upload photo | chat    
 
Go Back   Rennlist Discussion Forums > Performance & Competition Discussion Areas > Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2012, 03:33 AM   #31
dan212
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
dan212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 830
http://www.linkedin.com/in/ddoman
Default

Here's the thing about Tony's wired remote.. Traqmate will try to fire up the camera.. Maybe it did. Maybe it didn't The actual amount of time required for the two bus pins to be shorted to turn on the camera is not specific. The camera will actually power up faster if it was powered up in the last 30 minutes. Takes longer when the camera has been idle. So turning on the camera. Pressing the button whatever is actually fuzzy.

You power up the camera by shorting two pins on the bus. For long enough and not forever. This is how the remote work. Traqmate does exactly the same thing. Thats how the front button works too. Another GoPRO quirk is that the camera actually powers up a few beats before the front LCD reflects this.

Only the camera powers the LED. So the LED on this wired remote gives absolute positive confirmation that the camera is on. You can press the button like a madman.. But the LED tells you that you actually turned it on. I found the LED crucial.

I never used the GoPro - just sat on the shelf - until I got this cable from Tony.
To remove this ad, register today or login if you already are registered!

__________________
PCA National DE Instructor
2006 997/Carrera - 3.6 (GTB1 - GS) - Blue
2001 996/Carrera - 3.6 (GTB1 - Koni) - White / (Gone but not forgotten)
2005 996/GT3 - Silver
2011 Ram/2500 Diesel (autocross)

Gone but not forgotten:
1972 Alfa Spider (got it in 1973)
1971 Chevy Vega (bought new for $1900 - dead after 2 years and 100K miles - yeah baby!)
dan212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 10:40 AM   #32
chrisc
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
chrisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Suwanee, Georgia
Posts: 813
Default

Only possible drawback I see is it looks like it plugs into the same connection as the GP extended battery. But the extended battery may not be necessary anymore since the camera won't have to run during all the paddock/grid boring time.
__________________
Chrisc
chrisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:00 PM   #33
MariusRacer
User
 
MariusRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 194
Default

Does this work with the hero 2?
Also is there way to control two cams with this?

Last edited by MariusRacer; 02-25-2012 at 03:22 PM.
MariusRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:26 PM   #34
Chuck Price
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Chuck Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 1,774
Default

I just got mine, with the LED, and it works like a charm. Thanks, Tony. Great idea!
__________________
Chuck Price


2004 GT3 White
1995 Red 993
'59 MGA Racecar sold
'96 Polar Silver 993 sold
'87 911 Red sold
Chuck Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:30 PM   #35
dan212
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
dan212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 830
http://www.linkedin.com/in/ddoman
Default

Yes - Tony has a version that will power up two cameras with one button.

Talked to Tony about adding power through the cable. 12V vehicle needs to be stepped down to 5V.. He knows how to do this and what pins to use and might add it later if there is enough demand.

ChrisC is right - Limiting the wasted "ON" time saves battery, makes the power line or a bigger battery a non-issue. One battery is fine for any DE or Race day. I swap out the battery for the enduro. Big deal. You can always harvest a Car/USB cable and use that if you really want to supply power to the camera. Its not really necessary though and I never bothered to.
__________________
PCA National DE Instructor
2006 997/Carrera - 3.6 (GTB1 - GS) - Blue
2001 996/Carrera - 3.6 (GTB1 - Koni) - White / (Gone but not forgotten)
2005 996/GT3 - Silver
2011 Ram/2500 Diesel (autocross)

Gone but not forgotten:
1972 Alfa Spider (got it in 1973)
1971 Chevy Vega (bought new for $1900 - dead after 2 years and 100K miles - yeah baby!)
dan212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:22 PM   #36
MariusRacer
User
 
MariusRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 194
Default

129.95 for two buttons plus led is really good. Pleasure to deal with!!!
MariusRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:12 AM   #37
MikeJim
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
MikeJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida Horse Country
Posts: 480
Default

The factory GoPro harness bar mount was too jiggly for my taste, so I built a simple mount from PVC pipe. Cost about $2.50.

Click the image to open in full size.

I used a hand drill to rout out a slot on the back of the GoPro case so the cable could plug into the camera back. It took about 10 minutes.

Click the image to open in full size.

Then I tucked the cable under the center console and mounted the button in the pop-out delete beneath the hand brake. The brake protects the button from being accidentally bumped, yet it's easy to get to when you're driving at speed. Just put your hand on the brake and push the button. Never have to look down. I confirm the camera is rolling with a quick glance in the rear-view mirror.

Click the image to open in full size.
MikeJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:21 AM   #38
FFaust
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
FFaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Limehouse, ON
Posts: 4,976
ffaust
Default

Wow, thanks for that.
__________________
Franšois
FFaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:32 PM   #39
Tony Oldham
User
 
Tony Oldham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Boston va
Posts: 17
Tony Oldham @ynotmotorsports Tony Oldham
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony Oldham
Default

I have found out that more drivers want the remote start wired cable with the led lights. So
Note. I am in the process of converting the remote start without the led light to the lighted led ones so if you want one with out the led light it will have to be special made.
I can also make them so they can operate 2 cameras at once with one buttom. They will also be special made. I can make them any length that you want. I have tested it up to 14 ft. Please feel free to ask any ? You have. My email is. Ynotmotorsports@yahoo.com


Note Gen1 will be made on special request only that's the one without the led
Gen 2. Will be made with led light

Last edited by Tony Oldham; 03-04-2012 at 08:30 PM. Reason: Updated cables
Tony Oldham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:16 PM   #40
Tony Oldham
User
 
Tony Oldham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Boston va
Posts: 17
Tony Oldham @ynotmotorsports Tony Oldham
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony Oldham
Default 5v input

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
Only possible drawback I see is it looks like it plugs into the same connection as the GP extended battery. But the extended battery may not be necessary anymore since the camera won't have to run during all the paddock/grid boring time.

I now have a cable that you can run external power from your lighter on your car 5v with a car adapter charger and a usb cable that works with the remote start
Tony Oldham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:28 PM   #41
ProCoach
Rennlist Member
Rennlist
Small Business Partner

 
ProCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Durham, NC and Virginia International Raceway
Posts: 3,233
peter.krause VintageProCoach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Oldham View Post
I now have a cable that you can run external power from your lighter on your car 5v with a car adapter charger and a usb cable that works with the remote start
Sweet!
__________________
-Peter Krause
www.peterkrause.net
"The Driver is the Greatest Performance Variable in the Racing Equation"
Private, Professional and Individual Driver Performance Analysis Trackside in North America and Remotely
Authorized, Value-Added Traqmate, AiM Sports, Video VBOX HD, MoTeC C125/C185, Race-Keeper HDX2 and SmartyCam HD Dealer
ProCoach is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:52 AM   #42
Chuck Price
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Chuck Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 1,774
Default

Tony,
Can you post more info on the power cord?
__________________
Chuck Price


2004 GT3 White
1995 Red 993
'59 MGA Racecar sold
'96 Polar Silver 993 sold
'87 911 Red sold
Chuck Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:46 PM   #43
Tony Oldham
User
 
Tony Oldham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Boston va
Posts: 17
Tony Oldham @ynotmotorsports Tony Oldham
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony Oldham
Default Remote start with led light and 5V cable

Heres the updated cable with led light

8ft cable that can cut the gopro hd and hd 2 on with a single button and and led light that shows if its on or not. push the button the light comes on the camera is recording. to cut the camera off push the button hold for 5 sec release the button camera cuts off 2 sec later the led light goes off. and i have added a usb cable that you can power this from 5V by way of a 5v car charger that you can get from radio shack.

you dont need a battery in the camera to run this camera with the 5V hook up
Note you have to have that adapter 5V car charger for this to work
I will answer any ? my email is ynotmotorsports@yahoo.com

These cables with the led and 5V Usb are being sold for $129.95 and they will be Special made

The cables with the led light I have on hand and are being sold for $79.95
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Tony Oldham; 03-07-2012 at 10:41 PM. Reason: to add email address
Tony Oldham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:07 PM   #44
HiWind
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
HiWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 2,491
Default

Thanks Tony - looks great. email and PP enroute.

Guys, beside the very neat handbrake install pictured above (very james bond) has anyone found another awesome place for the button/led? Keen to keep cables invisible-ish so run along roll cage and then either into centre consol - inside ash tray or thru one of the blank window switches (do reg 996 back windows come down??) or along seat to fuse box area ie easy to see even in bright day time but out of normal eyeline. What say ye?
__________________

996 GT3 CUP - - - 964 3.8 RSe - - - 996 MkI GT 3

My RL albums - 964, 996 RS & Cup
HiWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:11 PM   #45
Chuck Price
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Chuck Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 1,774
Default

I put my button and light into the blank window switches behind the parking brake. No pics. Very easy and relatively easily reversible install.
__________________
Chuck Price


2004 GT3 White
1995 Red 993
'59 MGA Racecar sold
'96 Polar Silver 993 sold
'87 911 Red sold
Chuck Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:11 PM
Rennlist



Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
button, cable, camera, drivers, ed, forums, gopro, hero, oldham, pro, remote, rennlsit, start, tony, traqmate, wired

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright ę 1998 - 2007 Rennlist.com

Advertise on Rennlist - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs