Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Request Comments: "Cost" of Leasing Analysis

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2015, 12:56 PM
denniscasey
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Request Comments: "Cost" of Leasing Analysis

Would appreciate comments to let me know if my logic is correct in following where I compared lease to purchase. As we know there are pros and cons to both depending on many things so I am not making any comments on one being "better" than other. I just want to clearly understand leasing vs buying because as mentioned in an earlier post I have no experience in leasing, have always purchased cars.

I went to Porsche dealer and explained just what I said above. We did a pro forma analysis on 2015 Cayman S costing roughly $78,700. I live in state where sales tax for lease is levied only on amount of lease, not on full sales price of car. So with lease I pay $2,200 in sales tax vs $5,200 for purchase (tax rates also different lease vs buy). I did 27 months with 5000 miles per year. I tried to come up with total costs (excluding maintenance) at end of 27 months assuming I could "sell" car for residual value ($55,800 in this case) at end of 27 months in case of buying car. Lease payments $1,081 per month, down payment for lease $4,000. On purchase side I assumed down payment of $35,720 so I financed $43,000 for 27 months at interest rate of 2.4% available here.

At end of day the total costs associated with lease were $35,427 and total costs for buying car were $30,227 (assuming I could sell car for residual value of $55,800). So I am thinking it costs me an extra $5,200 to lease car for this term vs buying car and then selling car at end of 27 months.

Is this logic correct?? Porsche business manager agreed with this, but that made me wonder if I did it correctly.