Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice re: buying a used Cayman S

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2014, 09:23 AM
The car-nut
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice re: buying a used Cayman S

Dear Cayman gurus:
I have been a Mercedes and BMW driver for over 30 years, but am about to cut the umbilical cord and move to a Cayman S. However, I am not new to Porches, as I own a 1980 911 SC and a 1986 911 Carrera wide-body. Nevertheless, I do not know much about new Porsches.

So, I was wondering if I could possibly use your wisdom for making my decision in regard to buying the right car, with the rather limited budget that I have in hand.

I believe I can buy either a 2008 or a 2009. My research has shown that there is apparently a technical issue with the 2008 (cannot remember the exact issue), which has been resolved in 2009 and onward cars (according to the article the issue has been overblown). The deals on low-mileage 2008s are much more attractive than those for 2009. In fact, there are quite number of 2008 for sale, and very few 2009s.

So, I would appreciate getting your feed back about this matter. Here are my questions:

1. Is there much difference between the two year models?
2. What price would be reasonable for a relatively low-mileage (say between mid-20K to low 30K mile cars).
3. Given the fact that I live in east cost of Canada, and that my choices are extremely limited, what avenue should I be trying to find a decent car (many have advised me against the eBay!)
4. Should one trust dealers (not Porsche dealers), that have relatively high rating according so-called customers feed-backs on the Internet.
4. . . . and any other words of wisdom?