Sponsored By:

Advice for 958 shopping & towing

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2016, 12:32 PM
devenh
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Advice for 958 shopping & towing

I'm looking for a used 958 for towing a 6000 lbs enclosed trailer. The car will be used for towing about 30% of the time, the balance being normal on road driving. I'm a newbie to Cayennes and trailering, so assume I know nothing

Which models have the horsepower and torque for long distance towing?

Are diesels that much better suited to towing?

Which options should the car have? I have been told the air suspension is a must. Is this standard on some models and, if so, which ones?

If a car does not have the towing package, is this difficult to install after market?

I've been doing some online shopping. Some cars come with 21" wheels. Would these be a disadvantage when towing (I am assuming they have lower profile tires)?

Last edited by devenh; 09-29-2016 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Spelling
Old 09-29-2016, 07:15 PM
f4 plt
Rennlist Member

Received 139 Likes on 72 Posts

I have had two V 8 Cayennes and could only get about 12.5 at highway speeds towing my Trailer enclosed trailer with a car and goodies total weight 5600 lbs +-