Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'08 'entry & drive' option ?

Old 06-01-2015, 01:39 AM
NRFD
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '08 'entry & drive' option ?

Hi - I'm new to Porsche and looking at an '08 CTT. It has the 'entry and drive' option. On the test drive, worked great to get into vehicle, but it didn't have the 'dummy' key in the starter. We just used the regular full sized FOB key and it worked fine. Do I understand that the system is set up w/ a plastic dummy key that is designed to stay in place? If so, it seems that replacement dummy key part is less than $50 new on ebay. Most of the discussion I found on this topic were for different Porsche models, just wanted to confirm my understanding because selling used car dealer doesn't know about this system. The build list by vin does show this car has it, and it does work to unlock is 'keyless' w/ FOB in pocket.
thanks for any info................
Old 06-01-2015, 02:07 AM
mcbit
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by NRFD
Do I understand that the system is set up w/ a plastic dummy key that is designed to stay in place? If so, it seems that replacement dummy key part is less than $50 new on ebay.
Your understanding is correct. I've had entry and drive on all 3 of my Cayennes however my current car didn't have the dummy key when I bought, I obtained a new key from the dealer for somewhere in the region of $20.
Old 06-01-2015, 02:09 AM
NRFD
Track Day

vielen dank!
Old 06-01-2015, 09:56 AM
bweSteve
Rennlist Member

Received 1,036 Likes on 657 Posts

Yes, the dummy plastic key is JUST THAT,... a simple plastic hollow key that snaps in once you insert it.

To add a bit more info: Fyi, Regarding REMOVAL of that plastic dummy key::

The owners manual describes the process to remove that dummy key,... & it appears quite involved.

Rather than using the Owners Manual process, Porsche has setup a MUCH MORE SIMPLE way to remove that key...