Notices

Detail Spray the Wheels?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2015, 06:04 PM
Duke I
Rennlist Member

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Detail Spray the Wheels?

When detail spraying your car, do you also detail spray the wheels or is brake dust too abraisive for detail spray alone and muset be washed off only? Thanks.
Old 06-20-2015, 06:18 PM
Marine Blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 801 Likes on 465 Posts

I have been using Quick Detailer or Spray Wax for the past four years on my Spyder and the wheels look great. In fact I have been using QD's on wheels for nearly a decade now with no issues.
Old 06-20-2015, 06:37 PM
Duke I
Rennlist Member

Thanks MB. After washing only? Or do you use them to touch up and get brake dust off between washings? D
Old 06-20-2015, 08:33 PM
Marine Blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

You can use quick detailer without washing the wheels. Use a decent microfiber and dedicate a group of microfibers for wheel cleaning only. Using spray wax helps keep the surface slick and makes future clean up easier. Griots is one of my favorites for spray wax, Meguiars NXT Tech is also good.

One of these days I'll take a shot of my wheels after a drive in the country when they are caked with brake dust and bugs. Grasshoppers are especially bad as they stick like glue to the barrels and spokes.
Old 06-20-2015, 09:17 PM
Duke I
Rennlist Member

Got it. Thanks.
Old 06-22-2015, 08:46 AM
SC Detailer
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can as long as its not a large amount, as with the paint. You dont want a large amount of dust on the paint either.

HUMP
Old 06-24-2015, 12:10 AM
Marine Blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by SC Detailer
You can as long as its not a large amount, as with the paint. You dont want a large amount of dust on the paint either.

HUMP