Sponsored by:

Loud whining noise

Old 09-21-2016, 01:28 PM
ZLH
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud whining noise

Dear all

Newbie here, and would appreciate some help.

My Boxster (2.9 PDK) recently developed a loud high-pitched whining noise. It's so loud that the security guards at my house and my office came to ask if my car was ok.

A few characteristics:
1. It's quiet when started, and only comes on after driving a while
2. It continues after the engine's turned off for a few seconds before winding down
3. It happened a few times, but now stopped. Brought it to the workshop and they couldn't replicate the problem.

Clip of the noise can be found here:

Can anyone advise what the problem is? Many thanks in advance!
Old 09-21-2016, 03:06 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

You mention the noise only appears after the car has been driven awhile which suggests the engine is hot enough the radiator fans are running or the engine compartment fan is running.

That the noise continues after the engine has been shut off my WAG is it is a radiator or engine compartment fan motor that is noisy.

If you want drive the car around until the engine is hot enough to trigger the radiator fans to come on. You'll have to be sure the A/C is off.

If you then hear the noise concurrent with the fans coming on just wait and let the fans run until the coolant temperature drops and the fans shut off. If the noise then stops, well there you go.

You can also get the engine compartment fan to come on then run until it shuts off on its own.

While the tech can command either radiator fan to come on or the engine compartment fan to come on the noise only appears after the source has run a while. If I'm right of course.

Another possibility is the noise is from the power steering pump. You sure the fluid level is ok?