Notices
Boxster & Boxster S (986) Forum 1996-2004
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil change question concerning Oil Cooler.

Old 07-12-2006, 09:20 AM
Evan
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil change question concerning Oil Cooler.

Hi all,

Boxster newbie here….sorry for the long newbie post.

I am picking up our ’00 S tonight and had a few questions I couldn’t find searching. Mileage is 20,500 and one owner. PPI checked out fine and the only issue was that the owner had the mentality of changing the oil based on mileage rather than once a year, regardless. Had two oil changes all at the stealer with Mobil 1. Last oil change was over 2 years ago. So, first off I am dumping the oil and filter.

Regarding the oil change, I see the drain plug in the oil cooler mentioned, but no mention about draining the oil out of the cooler. Is this necessary? Wouldn’t you want to drain the cooler at each oil change? Is there any reason I shouldn’t? If I do drain it, do I need a new plug, spring, washers or any new pcs or just use the old one? If I do need new parts (for oil cooler drain plug), does anyone know the part # needed? How much oil is needed for the entire fill if the cooler is drained?

I always changed my 993 with the car cold, but read the Boxster's oil is changed while the oil is at operating temperature. How hot do you get the car before the change and still not having the oil to hot to work with?

And lastly, what oil/water temperature (on the dash gauge) do I need to be at before I can get on the car?

Thanks for all your help !!!!!
Attached Images   
Old 07-12-2006, 07:31 PM
type987s
Instructor