Aftermarket nav/stereo can use factory bluetooth microphone? - Rennlist Discussion Forums
Rennlist Discussion Forums   classifieds | membership | rennlist | photo album    
sponsors | upload photo | chat    
 
Go Back   Rennlist Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Audio and Video Forum
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2011, 10:10 PM   #1
MVDESQ
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 50
Matthew Van Dusen
Default Aftermarket nav/stereo can use factory bluetooth microphone?

I have a CDR-30 stereo in my 2009 Boxster and it is terrible sounding. Many others say the same. However, I love the factory bluetooth and integrated microphone as it looks so flawless. Does anyone know any aftermarket nav/stereo units that can use the factory microphone instead of those silly ones that come with those radios? I'm open to different brands, etc.
To remove this ad, register today or login if you already are registered!

MVDESQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:57 AM   #2
JBrown
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
JBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 1,472
Default

A good installer can make the factory mic work with any aftermarket blue tooth radio as long as he knows what he is doing.
The problem you are going to find is the factory system is amplified ( bose) you cannot use the factory amp with any aftermarket radio. The factory amp is turned on thru a data signal from the factory radio and that cannot be duplicated. You will have to change the amp also.
__________________
83 911 cab/ 3.5 turbo 400rwhp- 88 944 turbo
www.soundfx-ny.com
JBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:52 PM   #3
MVDESQ
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 50
Matthew Van Dusen
Default

I don't think my system is Bose as it doesn't say Bose anywhere whereas my 2004 Cayenne S with PCM (factory nav) said Bose on all the speakers.
MVDESQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 07:00 PM   #4
JBrown
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
JBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 1,472
Default

I just check my tech. You are out of luck, all the radios are data controlled . Even the starting line radio.
It has an amplifier and my tech says to change the radio you have to change the amplifier too.
Most newer euro cars are like this now. Sorry for the bad news.
__________________
83 911 cab/ 3.5 turbo 400rwhp- 88 944 turbo
www.soundfx-ny.com
JBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 07:06 PM   #5
JBrown
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
JBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 1,472
Default

This is what it says in my technical data for all stock radios in 09 porsche boxster.

EQUIPPED WITH MOST« MULTIMEDIA NETWORK – SOURCE UNIT AND ANY AMPLIFIERS MUST BE REPLACED AND NEW WIRING RUN FOR THEM TO ALLOW AFTERMARKET EQUIPMENT.
__________________
83 911 cab/ 3.5 turbo 400rwhp- 88 944 turbo
www.soundfx-ny.com
JBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 02:01 PM   #6
MVDESQ
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 50
Matthew Van Dusen
Default

Are there any units that interface with the factory system so I do not have to replace amps and wiring, etc.?They really make this hard.
MVDESQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 08:28 PM   #7
JBrown
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
JBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 1,472
Default

no there is absolutly nothing. . It is usually not cheap and make sure the installer is familiar with the system and has worked with it before. If you call me at the shop 10am-6pm mon-fri I can exsplain what has to be done much eaisier. I am a better talker than typer. .lol..

SoundFX
845-928-9099
John
__________________
83 911 cab/ 3.5 turbo 400rwhp- 88 944 turbo
www.soundfx-ny.com
JBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 08:29 PM   #8
JBrown
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
JBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 1,472
Default

By the way you dont have to change wiring. Just the amp and radio.
__________________
83 911 cab/ 3.5 turbo 400rwhp- 88 944 turbo
www.soundfx-ny.com
JBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 03:11 AM   #9
timmhaines
User
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 89
Default

i Own Kartunes in Seaside and we install aftermarket in dash units and use a fibre optic adapter by Nav-Tv to allow use of the OEM amp spkr system part is called a MOST HUR, and with an Alpine unit you even keep the steering wheel controls. Cayenne, 996,997,Cayman and Boxster.
We also have kits to mount the units.
timmhaines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:29 AM   #10
JBrown
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
JBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 1,472
Default

Thats good to know I did not even no nav-tv made that I deal with them all the time.. Thanks..
__________________
83 911 cab/ 3.5 turbo 400rwhp- 88 944 turbo
www.soundfx-ny.com
JBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:36 AM   #11
Cyberpunky
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Cyberpunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,128
Default

I think you will find it is the speakers that limit the system sound. You can add an Alpine processor or Audison bit1 and various other units to add better amps and speakers
Seek out a local specialist as they will have done this many times before. The factory HU is fine to keep IMO
Peace
Cyberpunky
__________________
Bruce
Australian delivered 86 952. Rogue ECU and M tune, Fabspeed 3" cat back, CEP Fuel Rail, Tial F38, Turbosmart Eboost1, PCG pullley set, SFR 2.5" IC pipes, Laust VM.


*out beyond ideas of right doing and wrong doing, lies a field, let me meet you there* Rumi
*Stop thinking and end your problems* Lao Tze
*yeah Boyee!* Flavor Flav

#illridewithyou

2007 Australian National Car Audio Sound Quality Champion (Pro-class)
Cyberpunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:07 PM   #12
Dennis C
A Texan in the Mountains
Rennlist Member
 
Dennis C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Evergreen, Colorado
Posts: 8,660
Dennis Cassell Texanhoosier
Default

A good installer can do wonders. I had my headunit, amp and speakers replaced in my C4S. A new mic was installed, but it is in the OEM location behind the OEM cover, so it looks totally stock. The antennae for the Sirius XM and for the GPS were installed on the front bumper, completely concealed under the bumper cover for a stock look.

I agree on the speakers being the weak link in the system.
__________________
Dennis

2008 Porsche 911 Turbo Cabriolet

Previous Porsches:
2004 Porsche Cayenne S
2002 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S

Dennis C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:07 PM
Rennlist



Paid Advertisement
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement Dension Microphone mpclimber 997 Forum 5 07-28-2014 12:49 PM
Double DIN nav radio installed Dennis C 996 Forum 30 02-12-2014 05:12 PM
Any Dension 500SBT Bluetooth Gurus? spooltime Porsche Cayenne Forum 1 12-01-2013 01:13 PM
Steering Wheel Retrofit Paul Waterloo 968 Forum 16 08-31-2013 02:48 AM
Factory Cell/ "Batphone" Microphone Location SSTAR 993 Forum 8 03-26-2013 01:52 PM


Tags
aftermarket, bluetooth, controls, factory, installed, market, mic, microphone, nav, radio, replace, stereo, stock, system, tacoma

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join rennlist.com

All times are GMT -3. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 AC1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright ę 1998 - 2007 Rennlist.com

Advertise on Rennlist - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs