Sponsored by:

New to Pcars, but dying to get into this 997TT

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2016, 04:35 PM
Ibanezgod
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by jhbrennan
Range 4 over revs indicates that there were some missed shifts in its life the last events occurring at hour 800.9 (maybe at about 22,000 to 23,000 miles). Since there appear to be over 1,000 hours now, some time has elapsed since that last missed shift. Since you already bought the car, I wouldn't worry about it - not much you can do now. Rental cars tend to be abused so maybe a renter got too aggressive with his shifts.
i have range 4 shifts, mostly result from 1st gear pulls when I didn't shift early enough and went into the low 7k
Old 11-23-2016, 02:13 AM
Artwerks
Instructor

Received 30 Likes on 16 Posts

I appreciate your feedback, guys. I definitely appreciate it because even as a newb I should know better to just search. In hindsight, I did just that.

I found a lot about over rev reports and it seems that range 6 and perhaps 5 are the real threats, but I still haven't heard of anyone blowing up an engine due to a bad history of over revs.

I'm happy to say that this car has a small number of 5's and absolutely zero 6's. If anyone is expecting that I'm buying my first Porsche super car and I'm not going to at least hit some range 4's, then I might be on the wrong forum

Art
Old 11-23-2016, 03:04 AM
blackbull
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

OP.......

negotiate $77k price (Do PPI!!!)
buy car
remove ccbs
install big reds & lsd
drive......enjoy
Old 11-23-2016, 06:06 PM
550bryan
Pro

Received 46 Likes on 22 Posts