Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

DIY Guide to PCCB Pad Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2008, 09:58 PM
zmann
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY Guide to PCCB Pad Replacement

I replaced my pads, front and back, this weekend. While I didn't take pics (sorry), here is a detailed description of the work involved. I have never done brake work before and this was not hard.

Parts (the numbers below may be switched for front and back. I didn’t pay that much attention when I opened the boxes / bags). The pads come two to a box as to the bolts. You need to order 2 front wear indicators and two rear:

1. Front brake pads 99735294701
2. Rear brake pads 99735194802
3. Front brake wear indicator 99761267700
4. Rear brake wear indicator 99761275400
5. Front caliper bolts 99906705409
6. Rear caliper bolts 99906704001

Process:

1. Front:
a. Lift the car using a 3-ton floor jack by lifting at one of the rear lifting points. Put a jack stand under the front wheel lifting point. Lower the car. Do the same on the other side and, again, lower the car. Put the floor jack under the crankcase seam and lift the rear of the car (the dealer suggested putting a hockey puck on the lift to add some protection to the engine case). Insert two jack stands under the rear lifting points.
b. Remove front wheels using the pins in the car’s tool kit that hold the wheels away from the rotors.
c. Turn the wheels (on the left side turn the wheel right) so that the caliper is easily accessed.
d. Remove the 13mm bolt that holds the pin in place that holds the retaining clip / expanding spring in place. This is on the backside of the caliper.