Sponsored by:

Novice questions on tracking the 997

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2016, 01:54 PM
Racetwin2
Three Wheelin'

Received 47 Likes on 33 Posts
Default Novice questions on tracking the 997

OK, I must say I'm a novice at tracking the 997. Have only been at the track twice this year, once with instructor. Plan to go once more.

I come from sport bikes where everything seems to be over-engineered and overheating brakes was not really an issue.

However when I last tracked the car with instructor we never drove more than 1-2 laps and then a cool down lap for the brakes.

On a fairly short track here the Porsche will do max 8 laps before brakes are gone according to my instructor. His Subaru maybe 6 laps. He is a national rally driver for Subaru driving a WRX STI

How do you drive when you are on track days? Two-three laps and then in the pits to cool down with engine running? I guess a cooling down lap is not to recommend when other cars are around?

Also -what other Pre-inspection / post inspection or other preparations do you do during a track day?

Do you bring basic tools, duct tape etc?

Please school me
Old 09-19-2016, 03:46 PM
Alexandrius
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

So much to say...

i recommend the following for reliable braking for a 20 minute session at the track (which is generally how long I'm on track at a time).

1. Track pads, something with a semi metallic compound. Pfc 08 is popular. These will eat rotors and can cause a bit of shakiness if they are not properly bedded. Ideally, you will run the pfc08s with their own rotors and swap back to stock for daily driving. Pfc 08 will squeal when cold and will not have maximum grip cold.

2. Stock rotors are fine for both applications, but slotted aftermarket would be ideal. Really doesn't matter much for hpde.

3. Gt2 brake ducts. Will require minimal trimming of metal brake shields to install, but grant massive airflow to your brakes to cool them. way more effective than gt3 ducts.