Hardwired my V1. - Rennlist Discussion Forums

Log In 


Hardwired my V1.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2011, 07:46 AM   #1
Jim 'n' SC
User
Thread Starter
 
Jim 'n' SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 294
Default Hardwired my V1.

Hardwired my V1 yesterday. Thanks to everyone who posted their instructions. I used various tips from lots of those to get the install the way I wanted it.

I looked at tapping into the overhead light console wiring, but decided I didn't want to cut the factory wiring. I ended up running the wires along the top of the windshield and down the post to the fuse box. There was an empty switched fuse block and I used an accessory fuse that you can plug into for the power. Cost about $3.50 at Autozone. Grounded it with one of the screws that holds in the fuse pannel. Works perfect! Used Edgy's tip about tying knots in the wire to hold it under the windshield...good tip Edgy.

While the light console is a lot closer to the V1 it's really much easier to just run the wires to the fuse pannel and get a empty slot there. That way your not piggy backing on another circuit that may or may not cause problems with some other device.
Jim 'n' SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:44 AM   #2
DGrayling
User
 
DGrayling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 193
Default

Jim,
Did you pull the fuse box away from the body to gain access ? I see that it bolts to the body in one place, but had trouble getting it free from the wheel well area. Do you have any more details on this?

Thanks,

Dave
DGrayling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:24 PM   #3
Jim 'n' SC
User
Thread Starter
 
Jim 'n' SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DGrayling View Post
Jim,
Did you pull the fuse box away from the body to gain access ? I see that it bolts to the body in one place, but had trouble getting it free from the wheel well area. Do you have any more details on this?

Thanks,

Dave
You do not remove the main fuse box! You do remove the carpet trim around the box (3 screws). This will allow you to install a ground wire. I used one of the nuts holding the fuse pannel in place.
Jim 'n' SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:10 PM   #4
Mike in CA
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Mike in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: North Bay Area, CA
Posts: 11,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim 'n' SC View Post
Hardwired my V1 yesterday. Thanks to everyone who posted their instructions. I used various tips from lots of those to get the install the way I wanted it.

I looked at tapping into the overhead light console wiring, but decided I didn't want to cut the factory wiring. I ended up running the wires along the top of the windshield and down the post to the fuse box. There was an empty switched fuse block and I used an accessory fuse that you can plug into for the power. Cost about $3.50 at Autozone. Grounded it with one of the screws that holds in the fuse pannel. Works perfect! Used Edgy's tip about tying knots in the wire to hold it under the windshield...good tip Edgy.

While the light console is a lot closer to the V1 it's really much easier to just run the wires to the fuse pannel and get a empty slot there. That way your not piggy backing on another circuit that may or may not cause problems with some other device.
Congrats on your install. Another way to deal with keeping the wire in place: I cut small pieces of foam insulation, wrapped it around the wire at several spots and then stuffed it between the headliner and windshield. No kinks in the wire, the foam holds it in place, and the possibility of any kind of rattle or buzz is eliminated.
Mike in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:15 PM   #5
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member
 
Edgy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 17,073
Default

Isn't it nice to do it right, and not have wires hanging around!
Edgy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:37 PM   #6
KeninBlaine
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
KeninBlaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Semiahmoo/Blaine, Wa
Posts: 2,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim 'n' SC View Post
Hardwired my V1 yesterday. Thanks to everyone who posted their instructions. I used various tips from lots of those to get the install the way I wanted it.

I looked at tapping into the overhead light console wiring, but decided I didn't want to cut the factory wiring. I ended up running the wires along the top of the windshield and down the post to the fuse box. There was an empty switched fuse block and I used an accessory fuse that you can plug into for the power. Cost about $3.50 at Autozone. Grounded it with one of the screws that holds in the fuse pannel. Works perfect! Used Edgy's tip about tying knots in the wire to hold it under the windshield...good tip Edgy.

While the light console is a lot closer to the V1 it's really much easier to just run the wires to the fuse pannel and get a empty slot there. That way your not piggy backing on another circuit that may or may not cause problems with some other device.
Exactly what I did. Works great.
KeninBlaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:15 PM   #7
DGrayling
User
 
DGrayling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
You do not remove the main fuse box! You do remove the carpet trim around the box (3 screws). This will allow you to install a ground wire. I used one of the nuts holding the fuse pannel in place.
Jim,

Great job! My question is regarding the positive fused connection. How did you connect the positive lead the the fuse box.

Dave
Attached Images
 
DGrayling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:41 PM   #8
Jim 'n' SC
User
Thread Starter
 
Jim 'n' SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DGrayling View Post
Jim,

Great job! My question is regarding the positive fused connection. How did you connect the positive lead the the fuse box.

Dave
You buy an accessory fuse at Autozone or Advanced auto. I think I still have the box, if I do I can post the part number tomorrow. You plug that into an empty swithced socket. It has several slots in it for a male connector that you put on the end of the V1 power wire. You may have to file the edge a little to make it fit or get a smaller male connector.
Jim 'n' SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:13 PM   #9
Mark Harris
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Mark Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 1,760
Default

Is that red circled socket in post #7 a switched socket that I can use? If not can somebody give a row/number of an empty switched socket I can use?

Thanks.....
Mark Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:55 PM   #10
DGrayling
User
 
DGrayling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
You buy an accessory fuse at Autozone or Advanced auto. I think I still have the box, if I do I can post the part number tomorrow. You plug that into an empty swithced socket. It has several slots in it for a male connector that you put on the end of the V1 power wire. You may have to file the edge a little to make it fit or get a smaller male connector.
Thanks Jim - that explains where my confusion was. Simple enough. Edgy's method of tapping directly into the wiring off the fuse box is beyond my confidence level. ( without a wiring diagram )

Quote:
Is that red circled socket in post #7 a switched socket that I can use? If not can somebody give a row/number of an empty switched socket I can use?
Thanks.....
Mark,
Not sure . . . it may depend on your car. I stole that photo from member crw's post "Steal Radar Install in a 997 (technical with lots of pics)" His description of that photo is " you can hardwire it directly to you fuse panel.
In a non 4S car use slot C1 - the unit comes with a male spade (already fused)"

Dave
DGrayling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:40 PM   #11
Max77
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DGrayling View Post
Jim,

Great job! My question is regarding the positive fused connection. How did you connect the positive lead the the fuse box.

Dave
There are a few ways to do it, the method I prefer most is using either the Bussmann add-a-fuse product or the Littelfuse add-a-circuit product. They're both essentially the same thing.
Max77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:16 AM   #12
ricm
User
 
ricm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern Calif
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harris View Post
Is that red circled socket in post #7 a switched socket that I can use? If not can somebody give a row/number of an empty switched socket I can use?

Thanks.....
I installed mine this weekend using the instructions from previous OPs - G1's Valentine wire kit with Adapta-fuse, the empty switched C1 socket (as pictured in the above post) and the readily accessible ground screw that attaches the fuse box to the body. Initially during the dry run the fuse box cover wouldn't snap shut due to the thickness of the Adapta-fuse but after I removed the carpet panel and installed the wiring, I slightly backed off when reattaching the panel and now the cover closes fine - albeit a little snug - but the Adapta-fuse will definitely not loosen from vibration.

Luckily C1 was available (997.2) as an empty switched socket so I of course used that vs. another dedicated low amperage socket that would use the piggy backed Adapta-fuse. It would probably work fine, but for me, kind of worrisome.
ricm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:44 PM   #13
PHDX2
 
PHDX2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MS & LA
Posts: 641
Default

Good work!
PHDX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Radar Detector Hardwire (Escort 9500 smartcord) Coochas 997 Forum 29 01-14-2016 03:02 PM
V1 w/ concealed display hardwire instructions VS1 997 Forum 6 01-09-2016 08:10 PM
DIY: Hardwire Valentine 1 Radar Detector in Cayenne Chris51080 Porsche Cayenne Forum 9 09-15-2013 11:16 PM
Another Valentine 1 Installation Edgy01 997 Forum 48 11-04-2011 01:00 AM
"Non-destructive" V1 hardwire power tap from center console cchan 996 GT2/GT3 Forum 12 06-23-2006 01:16 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2015 Rennlist.com