Sponsored by:

Rattle on acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2016, 10:15 PM
Alan A
Burning Brakes

Received 27 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Rattle on acceleration

So when I press the loud pedal I hear a rattle for a couple of seconds while the revs build. It's consistently coming from the passenger side rear, and it either stops or I'm busy concentrating on hanging onto the wheel in short order.

It's bloody annoying.

Anyone care to hazard a guess where to start looking for the source? Please don't be a smartass. I already know it's in the engine bay...

Car passed a PPI and was just serviced by a good indie. Neither noticed anything badly amiss.
Old 05-23-2016, 10:20 PM
Delicious
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi,

I am no expert in the Porsche world, but have a long background in engine management tuning. Has the vehicle's ECU been tuned or is it stock and how long has this been going on?
Old 05-23-2016, 10:30 PM
Atrox
Drifting

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Heat shield, cats, exhaust... Start tapping around see if anything is loosey goosey
Old 05-23-2016, 11:14 PM
Carlo_Carrera
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 2,227 Likes on 1,437 Posts

Turbo heat shield is loose or cracked. It is very common for the bolts that secure them to loosen up over time and/or the shields themselves to crack.
Old 05-23-2016, 11:28 PM
fpb111
Rennlist Member

Received 93 Likes on 69 Posts

What Gear? What speed? What RPM?
Old 05-24-2016, 12:14 AM
Alan A
Burning Brakes

Second or third. 2500-4000 or so, right where the power starts to come in (it has a umw flash).

Sounds like I need to get my *** underneath it and look for loose stuff.
Hopefully it's something trivial. Sounds like it at least.
Old 05-24-2016, 02:25 AM
Kevin
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 305 Likes on 211 Posts

Is it present with the stock file loaded in the ECU?

Have you changed your plugs recently?
Old 05-24-2016, 02:55 AM
993GT
Rennlist Member