Sponsored by:

Can you infer compression issues from Durametric values

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2015, 05:43 PM
PCarSD
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Can you infer compression issues from Durametric values

Im having a PPI done on a turbo Tip and I have to admit my jaw dropped when I heard the cost of the compression test. Two questions:

1. Do I need the compression test as part of the PPI? Car ran strong during test drive (with me as passenger and driver).

2. Is it possible to infer compression issues through Durametric generated log files? If so, what combination of values?
Old 04-01-2015, 03:46 PM
PCarSD
Advanced

Is this a stupid question?
Old 04-01-2015, 04:04 PM
rmc1148
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I'm no expert with Durametric. but most as far I've seen do not get compression check with a ppi not that it wouldn't be good info. If the miles are reasonable and maintenance has been kept up I wouldn't sweat it.
Old 04-01-2015, 04:24 PM
Turbodan
Rennlist Member

Received 488 Likes on 365 Posts

If the car showed a lot of stage 2 over revs and the car has not been flashed then I definitely would do a compression and leak down test. It should not be more than $300 for the test. To answer your question durametric or any other code reader would not show compression.
Old 04-03-2015, 04:22 PM
PCarSD
Advanced

Originally Posted by Turbodan
If the car showed a lot of stage 2 over revs and the car has not been flashed then I definitely would do a compression and leak down test. It should not be more than $300 for the test. To answer your question durametric or any other code reader would not show compression.
Thanks, it's a TIp so no type 2 over revs

And I understand there is no direct compression measurement from Durametric, but you can log values from a number of different sensors. My question is whether or not there is any way to infer compression issues from those readings.
Old 04-03-2015, 11:40 PM
Turbodan
Rennlist Member