Sponsored by:

Intermediate Shaft?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2013, 11:26 PM
OEM+
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intermediate Shaft?

Are intermediate shafts as big of a deal on the turbo engines as they are on the non turbo motors? I'm still learning all the ins and outs of these cars since I just got it, so I'm curious. Plus I'm SUPER paranoid to the point I'm diagnosed OCD so I literally just spent 5 minutes listening to the engine run in my garage and think that almost every sound is a bad sound.

Thanks.
Old 08-04-2013, 11:41 PM
rmc1148
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Its a differently designed motor and does not have the ims problem.
Old 08-04-2013, 11:45 PM
OEM+
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That's good to know.

What are some of the issues these motors have?
Old 08-04-2013, 11:46 PM
Kevin
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 305 Likes on 211 Posts

A few turbo owners have had the GEAR that is bolted to the IMS shaft come loose. The bolts back out and the gear comes off. Usually the oil filter will pack up with aluminum before a timing chain breaks..
Old 08-04-2013, 11:50 PM
rmc1148
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I'm no expert but I do know the cooling pipes can come unglued and cause loss of coolant other then that its usually just wear and tare repairs with a few electrical gremlins thrown in now and then but it seems more so with modded cars.
Old 08-05-2013, 01:07 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by OEM+
Are intermediate shafts as big of a deal on the turbo engines as they are on the non turbo motors? I'm still learning all the ins and outs of these cars since I just got it, so I'm curious. Plus I'm SUPER paranoid to the point I'm diagnosed OCD so I literally just spent 5 minutes listening to the engine run in my garage and think that almost every sound is a bad sound.

Thanks.