Sponsored by:

Tiptronic use....would love some insight as to how best to use

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2012, 11:19 AM
mtmd
Advanced

Received 12 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Tiptronic use....would love some insight as to how best to use

HI, i'm new to the 996 turbo. have always driven standard transmissions and of course automatics but have no experience with tiptronics.

Do most use this feature or do you tend to just keep the transmission mode as automatic.

I thought it would be just like a manual transmission without the clutch pedal but for some reason it doesn't seem to feel exactly the same as i would have envisioned.

I'd sure appreciate some pointers, thank you.
Old 03-14-2012, 12:21 PM
Kevinmacd
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Tiptronics are automatic transmissions. There is a lag in changing gears manually. You can buy an upgrade software for the tiptronic which helps somewhat. Since this is a true automatic it will never feel like a manual, or the new PDK dual clutch system Porsche now uses as a replacement for the tiptronic. Even though the tiptronic is one of the best shifting autos it still does not have the manual or pdk feel. My only suggestion is to use it and get used to it.
Old 03-14-2012, 01:20 PM
grayman
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I think there was an article in Excellence or PCA Pano a few years ago about why Hurley Haywood loves the Tiptronic.