Sponsored by:

How to disconnect Tiptronic and remove

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2017, 11:39 AM
TNT63Falcon
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How to disconnect Tiptronic and remove

Ok. The Tiptronic/engine unit is almost ready to be dropped. Just the trans mount and rear bolts holding it in. Almost everything else removed or disconnected.

I have read the few posts about removing a Tiptronic. However, just wanted to ask..."How is the shift linkage attached to the transmission"? I can see the mechanism moving, and assume that the shift linkage just "pops" off the ball on the shift mechanism on the transmission. It is jammed in there pretty good and I see some connections with clips. Just don't want to screw stuff up.

Also, I am replacing the engine with another one. Anything else I need to know about moving the torque converter to the new engine or removing the trans from the car, along with the engine at the same time. This is my first time, but I see light at the end of the tunnel.

Last edited by TNT63Falcon; 03-15-2017 at 12:14 PM.
Old 03-15-2017, 12:25 PM
DBJoe996
Rennlist Member

Received 1,091 Likes on 701 Posts

Does it look like this? http://www.autoatlanta.com/porsche-p...section=320-06
The 99-01 is different. You didn't say what year.
Old 03-15-2017, 12:35 PM
TNT63Falcon
Instructor

My apologies,......it is a 2002 996 Tip

Old 03-15-2017, 12:56 PM
DBJoe996
Rennlist Member

Received 1,091 Likes on 701 Posts

I think that ball socket doesn't come apart, but, a wrench on the flats of the ball socket to hold it, then loosen the stop nut on the shaft, then the shaft will spin out of the ball socket/linkage. If need be, remove the two flat spring clips and pull the linkage apart (see diagram). That will allow the linkage to swing free on the pivot point which may give you enough "pivot" to get the threaded shaft all the way out of the ball socket. But hell, I'm only guessing.