Weeping AOS line? - Page 2 - Rennlist Discussion Forums



Weeping AOS line?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2017, 06:10 PM   #16
rockhouse66
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rockhouse66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Western NC
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan_189 View Post
Thanks rockhouse, I can see the RR end that is bolted down so all good there.

As for the AOS end, did you reach in via the back facing the engine to disconnect and re connect the hose?

YES

In the diagram that has an O ring as well. Was it hard to replace that or did it sit in the hose?

I THINK O-RING COMES INSTALLED IN THE HOSE AND STAYS PUT DURING INSTALLATION
Answers in red above.
rockhouse66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 06:47 PM   #17
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Awesome thanks!

I'll keep everyone posted on my progress.

I wonder if anyone has used the 997 part and routed the hose ontop of the engine rather than through it (so to speak)??
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 07:27 AM   #18
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Here are the images of how the 3.6 997 engine routs that hose, which goes up behind and back to 4-6 crankcase side:






dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 11:43 PM   #19
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Any thoughts on attempting to use the 997 hose and clips?

I'm thinking hopefully it might be easier to route and it would stay cooler as its routed on top rather than through the engine? Also there might be less effort routing it as it can be done from the top.

From checking all the part numbers it looks like the AOS end would be fine as the 997.1 AOS has a 996 part number. Also the 997.1 3.6L crankcase also has a 996 part number too, so from both sides of the hose they should theoretically fit.
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 12:47 AM   #20
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Okay so im going to answer this one myself, unfortunately the 997 hose is cost prohibitive at $189aud for the 997 vs $68aud for the 996.

​​​​​​So that answers that question...
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 10:00 AM   #21
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Any torque specs available for the end of the hose with the two bolts?

I couldnt find any information on the AOS or the hoses in the factory manual
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 09:54 AM   #22
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Okay! Got this done today, steps I followed were:

1. Remove air box
2. Remove throttle body
3. Remove 1st T plenum
4. Un-do 2 10mm bolts on the bank 4-6 side
5. Reach around the back of the engine (AOS side) unplug hose, its tricky but it comes off
6. Cut cable tie holding the cable in place (under the right side of the 2nd plenum)
7. Pull out old hose
8. Route new hose start with bank 4-6 side first
9. Route AOS hose side through 2nd intake runners (back between 4-5) then across through 2-3
10. Route hose down past coolant tank
11. Reach in and plug AOS side in
12. Cable tie hose to 2nd plenum (factory is 6mm x 500mm cable tie)
13. Re assemble - T plenum, throttle, airbox
14. Test drive

Only thing that would have been useful to know was that there is a 6mm x 500mm cable tie holding it in place. Hopefully someone else finds this useful in the future!

Only one thing forgot to connect my MAF for a few mins so turned off plugged it in, does this affect the maps? Also do I need to perform the throttle rest procedure (car is 04' drive by wire/e-gas).

Thanks!!

Last edited by dan_189; 03-20-2017 at 09:17 AM.
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 10:23 AM   #23
rockhouse66
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rockhouse66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Western NC
Posts: 407
Default

I didn't mention the zip tie because I wasn't 100% sure that this was a factory installed thing or something someone added to my car. I also struggled to route the hose in such a way as to be able to replace that zip tie, so I must have gone underneath something that I should have gone over the top of. I did not replace it, but the hose just sort of stays there supported by the other hoses around it.

I don't think unplugging the MAF sensor messes anything up that needs resetting.

Good job getting to that AOS connection w/o removing the coolant tank. I don't know if I could have reached through there with any dexterity left to actually manipulate the hose connector.
rockhouse66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 05:11 PM   #24
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockhouse66 View Post
I didn't mention the zip tie because I wasn't 100% sure that this was a factory installed thing or something someone added to my car. I also struggled to route the hose in such a way as to be able to replace that zip tie, so I must have gone underneath something that I should have gone over the top of. I did not replace it, but the hose just sort of stays there supported by the other hoses around it.

I don't think unplugging the MAF sensor messes anything up that needs resetting.

Good job getting to that AOS connection w/o removing the coolant tank. I don't know if I could have reached through there with any dexterity left to actually manipulate the hose connector.
Thanks, yeah it wasn't an easy job by any means. Reaching behind and un hooking the hose was the hardest part.

I tried to get the new hose back through the existing cable tie but it wouldn't go through. Ended up cutting it using some smaller ones. I​ve ordered some larger ones so ill eventually replace it.

Hose is still sitting close to the coolant sensor though :/
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:17 AM   #25
dan_189
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 740
Default

As it would seem 6mm is not a standard zip tie size! Whyyyy?!

Anyone have a part number for the zip tie or is that being too pedantic?
dan_189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recaro Pole Positions and GMG Roll bar Installed. Mtrboatvr6 996 Turbo Forum 4 03-12-2017 10:52 AM
FS: 993 gt2 rear wing (but made for 964 ) RedGard Parts Marketplace 2 03-08-2017 03:08 AM
Powertrain Dolly DonaldBuswell 928 Forum 38 02-07-2017 02:51 AM
2016 Cayenne GTS overhead light "U" lense removal BigRed911 Porsche Cayenne Forum 4 12-13-2016 10:09 PM
Electric seat connector diagram Peedster 944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 0 11-13-2016 01:27 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2015 Rennlist.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send