Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

My IMS Solution DIY installation thread...

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2016, 11:46 PM
charlieaf92
Rennlist Member

Received 96 Likes on 52 Posts
Default My IMS Solution DIY installation thread...

Greetings. A few members requested that I post pics and updates related to my IMS Solution install on my recently acquired 2003 C4S.

BIG DISCLAIMER - READ THIS FIRST: This is my DIY install. I am not a mechanic. Throughout this process I have made a few silly mistakes that required me to go back and re-do things from time to time. This is not a reflection of the product at all but rather my unfamiliarity with it and the Porsche 996 in general. I happen to enjoy the process of learning to take things apart and put them back together - even if I make some mistakes along the way, but it is not for everyone. If you want an IMS Solution - I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND ONE - and if you aren't 100% comfortable working on your car - I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND having it professionally installed. Thus far my experience with the product, the tools and the people behind them has been absolutely first class.

In total this project took me just under 1 month. I made a few silly mistakes that added to the total time, and had to wait for parts to ship on several occasions. A shop, with a lift, and all parts on hand, that has done this before, could probably knock it out in a day or two. Me, laying on my back, with 15" of clearance from floor to underbody, never having worked on a 996 before, took a month - and it was pretty intense.

All together I put in the IMS Solution, replaced clutch/pressure plate/release bearing/flywheel and clutch slave cylinder, drained and replaced fluid in transaxle and front differential, replaced both front diff output shaft seals, replaced 1 output shaft seal on the rear and (obviously) did an oil change.