Sponsored by:

Factory sports exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2015, 05:05 PM
Stewart Lund
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Factory sports exhaust

I'm thinking of changing my exhaust at some point but I'd like to keep the car original as far as possible. Was there a factory sports exhaust option when the car was new? If so, is it worth having?
Old 08-13-2015, 05:29 PM
alpine003
Banned

Received 25 Likes on 24 Posts

Yes. Yes if you want to keep it OEM as you stated.
Old 08-13-2015, 05:33 PM
ejdoherty911
Three Wheelin'

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

I'm not an exhaust expert, I'm sure they will chime in, but here's my personal opinion after doing a good bit of exhaust research. Porsche is very very good at designing exhaust systems. Apparently the exhaust is high quality and maxes out potential. Removing the cats (don't do it), "upgrading" to 200 cell cats (not necessary, not worth it). Most of the high quality aftermarket systems do have a very nice sound, so that seems to be the main benefit. I don't know about the sport exhaust option, but if it's the X50? exhaust, I think it has a different sound people seem to enjoy.
Old 08-13-2015, 05:38 PM
thin_concrete
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes - I have the PSE on my 2003 4S and love it. It does have an "on/off" baffle so I'm sure that impacts the install time, but I'm not sure how much. There are threads here that discuss installation, so a search may be useful to you.
Old 08-13-2015, 07:12 PM
bal
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The factory sports exhaust (PSE) is simply for sound and not for performance. Similar sound results can be achieved using the Gundo hack/Fister mod - see http://fdmotorsports.net/fister-exhaust-996/ but it is always on whereas the PSE has a switch.
Pelican seem to have a PSE for a little of $4500 http://www.pelicanparts.com/catalog/...96_pg2.htm#buy
Installation is quoted in the shop manual as 750 time units, which is 7.5 hours.
Old 08-13-2015, 10:36 PM