996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

They see me rollin'...

Old 06-26-2007, 12:24 AM
programmatore
Drifting

Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts
Default They see me rollin'...

They see me rollin'. They're hatin'. Virginia's finest caught me ridin' dirty!

Alright, after 2 tickets in 2 months for failure to display a front license plate I give up. I hate to do it but it's time to drill holes in the RUF bumper and put on the license plate.

Do you guys think this is an easy job I can do myself (I am a software engineer but I think this job falls under the "hardware" category) or should I just take it to a body shop? I guess I have to buy the mounting hardware from Suncoast or the stealership.

I hate how the Fairfax County officer (1st ticket) and the State Trooper (2nd ticket this afternoon) both told me "I know it is ugly and ruins the clean lines of the car, but you have to do it." I wish I can continue to roll without front plates but at $82 a pop for the ticket it is not worth it.
Old 06-26-2007, 12:36 AM
LowStro9
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First off ......you should be shot for considering drilling holes in your RUF bumper.

I live one mile from RUF and will make sure that Wayne or Hanz give you a shout about that.

HERE IS THE PLATE SECRET THAT ALWAYS WORKS>>>PROMISE!!

Leave your plate on the floor up against the console in front of the pass seat. If you buzz past a cop and he heads your way, quickly toss the plate on the dash down low. I put a clear palstic edge around my plate as not to scratch the dash and I have gotten away with it three times.

Cop says.....stopped you for no front plate.

I say, Yes sir I know its not there but it is in the corner of the bottom of the windshield because my DOT approved (strosek) bumper does not come with mount points. I then tell them that I understand that state law requires it to be mounted and visible from the front.

Works Every Time...