Rennlist Discussion Forums   classifieds | membership | rennlist | photo album    
sponsors | upload photo | chat    
 
Go Back   Rennlist Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 996 Forum
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2007, 12:05 AM   #1
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default If i replace my instrument cluster, what happens to the mileage

I need a new cluster for my 99 996 and I am wondering what will happen with the mileage. It is my understanding that the mileage is stored in the DME and not the cluster itself...

I went to the dealer and they said that a cluster can only be programmed to a DME one time, so to be careful buying from a salvage yard or the like...

The dealer wants $2000+ for a new cluster and programming which I am not willing to pay, so I am looking for options...

thanks,

Keith
To remove this ad, register today or login if you already are registered!

Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 12:07 AM   #2
99firehawk
Super User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MIAMI
Posts: 3,103
Default

cluster should only be about 1400, whats wrong with your cluster ?
99firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 12:22 AM   #3
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default

After taking my car out of storage, when i started it up, I noticed that the LCD had apparently leaked. It is there permanently, even when the car is off. It doesnt affect the operation of the numbers and is just an annoyance...

-keith
Attached Images
 
Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 01:33 AM   #4
Nicolaasdb
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Nicolaasdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,182
Default

I have the exact same problem.....mine leaked on the last 2 digits of the total miles driven...it is not that important to me, so I am not going to pay 1 or 2K to fix it....but I have seen clusters on ebay for about 350-500
Nicolaasdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 01:57 AM   #5
Tool Pants
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,142
Default

The mileage is in the cluster.

I put a 996 cluster in my 1997 Boxster. The 996 cluster had 990 miles on it. My 1997 Boxster had a bit more than 990 miles....

It was a used 996 cluster from ebay, but advertised as new. As soon as I pluged it into my Boxster and saw 990 miles I knew it was used. It had a bad middle LCD display as you can see from the picture. Due to the bad LCD I put the Boxster cluster back in.

I could put that 996 cluster in your 996 and it will work. It will show 990 miles just like it did in my car. But it has a bad display.

Your dealer has given you some misinformation.
Tool Pants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:03 AM   #6
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool Pants
The mileage is in the cluster.

I put a 996 cluster in my 1997 Boxster. The 996 cluster had 990 miles on it. My 1997 Boxster had a bit more than 990 miles....

It was a used 996 cluster from ebay, but advertised as new. As soon as I pluged it into my Boxster and saw 990 miles I knew it was used. It had a bad middle LCD display as you can see from the picture. Due to the bad LCD I put the Boxster cluster back in.

I could put that 996 cluster in your 996 and it will work. It will show 990 miles just like it did in my car. But it has a bad display.

Your dealer has given you some misinformation.
Seeing that you have disected a cluster to a certain extent, is it possible to buy a used cluster and just transfer the middle display, and hence keeping my mileage readings, etc...

Also, is it possible to use an 02+ cluster? I know that the speedometer reads higher and is slightly different, but will the correct compensations be made ?
Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:09 AM   #7
Tool Pants
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,142
Default

I forgot.

It had 989 miles. After I plugged it in I drove around to see why the middle display looked funny. So I drove 1.4 miles with the 996 cluster in my Boxster.

There are problems with the LCD displays, and clusters were replaced under warranty. Apparently my ebay cluster was a warranty replacement and instead of being destroyed, it ended up on ebay. The seller had other used 996 parts so I suspect the seller worked at a dealership.
Tool Pants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:11 AM   #8
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default

I would love to be able to fit a GT3 cluster if it would work
Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:16 AM   #9
JasonAndreas
Technical Guru
Rennlist Member

 
JasonAndreas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 6,382
Default

I know that whatever electronic encryption used by VDO in their odometers was broken a year or two ago so it might be worth looking around online for someone to help if you end up with a different (newer) cluster.
JasonAndreas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:19 AM   #10
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default

Well im not into faking mileage or cracking clusters...I would love to be able to jsut replace the LCD of my cluster with one from another,, while keeping the heart the same...

Any options will be entertained if you have links however
Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:21 AM   #11
Tool Pants
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator911
Seeing that you have disected a cluster to a certain extent, is it possible to buy a used cluster and just transfer the middle display, and hence keeping my mileage readings, etc...

Also, is it possible to use an 02+ cluster? I know that the speedometer reads higher and is slightly different, but will the correct compensations be made ?
I have a lot of this cluster stuff on renntech.

When I gave up on trying to get the bad middle display to work I took my Boxster cluster apart and put the Boxster circuit board in the 996 cluster. That way the 3 LCD displays in the 996 cluster were actually from my Boxster and, of course, the mileage of the combined cluster was now the mileage of my Boxster.

But for some reason the volt meter would not work with the combined cluster. So rather than playing around further and ending up with 2 defective clusters, I put my Boxster cluster back together and back in my car.

You cannot use a 2002 cluster on a 1999. 2002 is what I call the new style cluster. You would need 1999-2001. Also, if you have a C2 then you need a C2 cluster, not a C4, or the fuel gauge will not read property due to the different gas tanks. You also cannot use a turbo cluster.
Tool Pants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:27 AM   #12
Tool Pants
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,142
Default

VDO does not selll parts for the electronic cluster.

If you buy a used cluster and need to reset the mileage then there are private companies that can have the display read anything you want. There are links to some of these companies on renntech.

However, a dealer with a PST/PIWIS cannot change the mileage because it is locked once it has 62 miles on it.
Tool Pants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:30 AM   #13
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default

If i buy an identical 99-01 cluster can i remove the speedometer LCD and replace my defective one?
Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:42 AM   #14
Tool Pants
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator911
If i buy an identical 99-01 cluster can i remove the speedometer LCD and replace my defective one?
I had considered this myself. I thought about taking the good middle/speedometer LCD display from my Boxster cluster and putting it in the 996 circuit board to replace it's bad display.

But it is connected to the circuit board via ribbon wire with a lot of little solder joints. And if I screwed up with the soldering iron I would end up with 2 bad clusters, so I gave up on that idea. Someone who is use to working with circuit boards could do it. That way you do not even have to deal with the mileage. Just swap the speedometer/obc display.
Tool Pants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:45 AM   #15
Gator911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gator911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 411
Send a message via AIM to Gator911
Default

Ok cool, It might wind up being the cheapest option. If i cant find a place that feels confident in doing it then I will just use the one I buy...

Does this option still limit me to 99-01 clusters do you know?
Gator911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 02:45 AM
Rennlist



Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
996, back, change, cluster, coding, happent, instrament, instrument, lcd, mileage, odometer, porsche, replace, speedo, suburban, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright ę 1998 - 2007 Rennlist.com

Advertise on Rennlist - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs