DE

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2001, 10:38 AM
Robert Lewe
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post DE

Hi fellow listers:

Well, it’s finalized. I’m all signed up for my first Driver’s Ed event! It is the “Viper Days” event at Virginia International Raceway on July 20, 21, and 22. Everyone I’ve talked to says the course is beautiful, and I can’t wait to drive there. I’m also looking forward to finally meeting Todd and hopefully having him drive my car and instruct me some.
After my wife and I get back from the Parade in Milwaukee, I plan to put on a new set of tires (BF Goodrich TA KD), have the oil changed, and bleed the brakes. As a newbie, I would appreciate anyone’s comments/advice on other things I should do prior to this event.

TIA

Robert Lewe
1997 993tt
Old 06-16-2001, 09:27 PM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Thumbs up

I strongly suggest you have the brake fluid changed, and fully flushed, rather than just a bleed. (Fully flushed means the accumulator which has to be done with the Hammer or equivalent.) Also, have the brake pads checked for wear. The stock pads are not the best for track and the TT speeds can use them up in a hurry.

FYI - I got 2 days at Grattan and 1 1/2 days at The Glen with almost 0 street miles on a stock set of pads. Have a blast.
Old 06-17-2001, 01:43 PM
Robert Lewe
6th Gear

Mark,
Thanks for the recommendation of a change and full flush of the break fluid. That makes a lot of sense and I am definitely going to do that.
Robert
1997 993 tt
Old 06-18-2001, 01:19 PM
SRF
5th Gear

If you are going to track the car more often, it's a very good move to get better pads on the car. Pagid Orange are usually considered the best all around application for a street and track combo car.
Old 06-18-2001, 01:33 PM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member