Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Help choosing a DE tire?

Old 02-01-2017, 12:31 PM
FLYT993
Rennlist Member

Received 94 Likes on 57 Posts

IMHO...i'm in the same boat...any of those tires you listed should suffice, because they are all excellent for what you want to accomplish. i'm running the 08R's and am not on the ragged edge of their limits, which is what i want...the car more capable than me because there is a cushion/margin of safety in that. as a beginner i'm learning and progressing not trying to burn up the track. by all accounts the 71R is a great tire/value. but a "lesser" tire isn't going to impede your progress. conversely, you may learn things with the 71R. my day at big willow taught me two things...the most important elements in DE are common sense and a good instructor in the right seat.
Old 02-02-2017, 10:26 PM
trophy
Race Car

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by e9stibi
Any experience here with the new Federal RS-RR? Both price and spec sheet looks tempting. They even offer a 245/35/18.

I am just worried about fit in the front. I am currently running NT01 in 245/40/18 and they slightly rub at the fender when new. People claim in other forums that the RS-RR run wide but looking at the spec sheets (diameter / width) it should fit:

NT01 245/40/18: 25.55 / 9.72
RS-RR 245/35/18: 24.7 / 9.7

This about the theory. Did anyone try them? The price is just too low not to try them (particularly if you run through 3 sets NT01 a season ..)
The favorite size i run on my car is a 245-35r18 f and 285-30r18 on the rear, the balance is just perfect. I run these sizes in Hoosiers only as they are the only ones that do a decent tire.

i have run as wide as a 255/35r 18 on the front on my car with no rubbing, the 245 will fit just fine.

The Federal RS-RR Have these sizes and ard intriguing to me, they seem to get good reviews in Europe and Australia where they have been available for a while.
Old 02-02-2017, 10:35 PM
trophy
Race Car