993 Forum 1995-1998

Oil filter check valve Mahle vs Porsche

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2015, 12:58 PM
Redd
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Oil filter check valve Mahle vs Porsche

I'm new to Rennlist.... I've tried to search the forums for this issue, but no luck.
I recently had an oil change done on my 1998 993 (manual)
The used filters coming off the car were Porsche brand name filters.
The new replacement filters my mechanic used were Mahle brand name filters.

Once the old filters were off the car, I examined them visually to see if there were differences between the two brand names. I have heard that Mahle makes the filters that are branded Porsche (correct me if I'm wrong).
Obviously all I could do is compare them without disassembling them, so this was only an external comparison and looking inside through the holes.
No obvious difference on the small filter.
However, on the larger filter, there appeared to be a check valve mechanism near the hole on the Mahle filter. The old Prosche brand filter coming off the car did not have this valve mechanism.

The mechanic was a bit apprehensive about installing the filter with this difference in mind, but since no replacement was readily available so we installed it anyway. He said I should carefully monitor the oil guages and oil level on the dip stick for the next few kms.
Now comes the odd behaviour of the gauges:
Dip stick level is good (engine running and warm).
Oil pressure good and high.
Oil temp is normal (about 09:00 position)
Oil level is at the very bottom (empty position) !

Driving around a bit had the oil level gauge move to about half full position for a few minutes, then needle falls back to empty position.
This erratic behaviour of oil level guage still continues after roughly 300 km of driving .
These observations are always with the engine warmed up.
This situation was not happening before the oil change.