993 Forum 1995-1998

Top 10 Mod's for new 993 owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2013, 01:13 AM
kiwi 911
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Top 10 Mod's for new 993 owner

I'm new to the 993 fold, having just purchased a RoW 95 C2 Manual (I take delivery next week)

Without reading 1,800 and something 993 threads (I tried filtering), can those in the know give a concise summary of the top 10 mod's / must do's to your newly acquired 993 please?

I want to keep the car looking stock, but as a regular track day participant in a 76 C3, like my cars to run and handle at their best. This car will be a roadie only, but there are some twistie B Roads in New Zealand so it needs to seriously handle, but not tram-line or bounce.

So what's the deal with suspension, bushes, performance chipping, by pass thingies etc.

Cheers
Kiwi 911

Last edited by kiwi 911; 12-31-2013 at 11:04 PM.
Old 12-05-2013, 01:37 AM
Edinsf
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not knowledgeable about making your car handle better but I had a Fister D short shift kit and golden rod installed on my 993 and its a great feeling shifter.
Your car looks great! Nice color!
Old 12-05-2013, 01:55 AM
Martin S.
Rennlist Member

Received 507 Likes on 338 Posts
Default Mods.....

Stage 1: First thing, drive the car for a while, get to know her and her eccentricities.

1. If the car is high mileage on original struts and shocks, and it rolls like a sea sick porpoise, change out shocks and struts and perhaps beef up sway bars. My personal preference, back in the day when I first starting "ruining the resale value" of my 993, upgrading to M030 suspension. It is "Factory", and it will fit. Later I upgraded to Bilstein PSS9 suspension with TRG sway bars. The car was no quicker on the track.