Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Member Greetings from Switzerland!

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2015, 09:01 AM
GetALife75
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member Greetings from Switzerland!

Greetings Rennlisters!

I am new to this wonderful forum and also new to Porsches. Never owned one in my entire life and still yet to buy one. Hoping to learn from the gurus here and pick up as much information that I can before dumping the cash for a 911.

Quick intro about myself. My name is Rodney and I am originally from Singapore. Have been working and living in Switzerland since 2008. Beautiful country and lots of awesome mountain passes to attack.

Since my move to Europe, my car history in sequence includes the following ...

07 Mini Cooper S 6MT, 11 Subaru Impreza STI Hatchback 6MT, 08 BMW E92 M3 6MT, 07 VW Golf 6 GTI 6MT, 09 BMW E93 M3 DCT, 12 VW Golf 6 R DSG and 07 BMW Z4 M Roadster 6MT

The last 2 are currently what I am driving.

I have admired and lusted after Porsche 911s since my teenage days. That sleek and instantly recognizable design. So I am now finally ready to go for it!

The GT3 has since forever been the holy grail for me. But I am not sure that I can ever fulfill the potential of that car. I would only classify myself as an above average driver. A 997 GT3 would be the dream car to have. But I feel that it would be a waste in my hands (and feet). So realistically I have decided that I would go for a 991 C2S.

And because I have no prior experience with 911s or Porsches for that matter, except for a quick test drive in a 997.2 TT PDK, the main dilemma I face now is which transmission to go for.

Ok before anyone starts jumping, I must first say the intention here is NOT to start another MT vs AT war. I am VERY sure that I am equally happy driving a MT or AT. You can see that there's a good mix from the various cars that I used to own. For me there is NO right or wrong or which transmission is BETTER.