Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

anyone switched PSM off? idiot move!

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2015, 02:49 PM
PDX991
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default anyone switched PSM off? idiot move!

On my commute to work every day, I have to make a sharp 90 degree turn to the left at speed on an off-camber road. My 987.2 would kick it's rear end out if I gave some throttle and it was always fun to induce a little slide. And I'm not talking about high speeds, it's a 30 -35 mph turn going uphill in my 987.2.

Well with my 991 C4S, it's only given me straight tracking with slight understeer every time despite how much throttle I give and how fast I take the turn. So this morning with no traffic on the road, I thought I would try to turn with PSM off. I took it at 20 mph to be safe. The rear end came around with barely any throttle and I did a 180! Ended up in the other lane facing the right direction 5 ft from a guardrail and nearly s*&ting my pants.

I have no experience driving a pre 997 911 and I assume this is the normal behavior of our 911's without PSM. I just didn't think it could happen at such low speeds. Granted it was wet, 46 degrees out and I have the PZeros on, but still.

I'm impressed with how much the PSM corrects the physics of the car. But also completely intimidated by it. And now that I've recovered, I wouldn't mind learning how to do that in a safe environment.

I'm sure a lot of you are going to think I'm a total idiot, and I totally feel that way. I've read about all the instances where people lose control of their old 911's because of throttle lift off but I always assumed that was with much more throttle. I was in 3rd at 20 mph and not accelerating.
Old 04-24-2015, 03:15 PM
NoGaBiker
Drifting

Received 228 Likes on 123 Posts

Glad you're safe! Glad you didn't bend your car!