Sponsored by: Road Spy

Daily Driver Decision

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2015, 10:44 PM
islandtrader
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Daily Driver Decision

Hi, I am new to the 991 turbo forum. I previously had a 997 C2 which I absolutely loved but ended up selling it to go to a Audi r8.

Long story short, I am looking for a new daily driver around town, road trips, any weather type of car(located in Chicago). I love like it to be comfortable for long distances, my carrera would give me back pain in about 30mins.

I currently own a Range Rover Sport which I use daily, but its bulky and not the most fun to drive(boring), very comfortable though in all conditions though. I also own a ferrari 458 which is a riot but not a dialy driver by any means, too much attention and you can't drive the thing when its under 50 degrees.

Current cars I am looking at are the 991 Turbo/Turbo S, Carrera 4s, Bmw i8, and Bmw M4. How usable comfortable is the Turbo/Turbo S, anyone take it on long journeys? I'm looking to put some miles on this thing and keep it for a long time. Anyone have expirence with the BMW i8? I know it doesn't compare with performance but seems like a pretty cool car and its AWD. Bmw m4 is the budget daily but not awd.

Thanks, your help is appreciated.
Old 11-09-2015, 10:50 PM
ipse dixit
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 10,786 Likes on 4,775 Posts

If I had the funds for a 150k+ car as a daily driver, it would most likely be a TT/TTS.

It's luxurious, comfortable, compliant, and wicked fast when you want/need it to be. It's gorgeous to look at (love those hips), but not over-the-top look at me like a Lambo or Ferrari. The general reliability and overall vast Porsche dealership network is the cherry on top.