Sponsored by:

Windshield protection film?

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2015, 06:46 PM
meaker
Three Wheelin'

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Windshield protection film?

after the smokies trip my windshield took a chip and a bunch of pits. Well I'm getting a new windshield next week and was thinking of doing a protection film like clear plex. Has anyone done this on your GT3? If so, what brand?how's The clarity? Distortion? Did your paint protection film guy install it and roughly how much was the install.
Old 05-29-2015, 07:21 PM
reidry
Three Wheelin'

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Hey meaker, was so glad to have film on the windshield during the Spring Smokies event; he onslaught from the rocks was brutal. We have an anti-graffiti film from Suntek. It was reasonable, $200, but it looks funny from the outside, kind of streaky even after several washes and cleanings with invisible glass.

I have no direct experience with Clearplex. Before I had this film installed, I found the DIY Clearplex kit for about $200. I asked here on the forum and was told the installation is much harder than the YouTube video leads one to believe.

When my current film is beat enough to require replacement I am definitely going DIY Clearplex.

Ryan
Old 05-29-2015, 07:25 PM
991RDC
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I had the same guy that did my SunTek paint protection do the ClearPlex, installed $400. I have saved replacing my windshield twice. It's works well and depending on how much your car is outside with clarity over time. I usually replace it every 18 months. Clarity is good with this product and I don't notice much distortion. Make sure you get a good installer, it makes a difference with the finish product.
Old 05-29-2015, 07:31 PM
reidry
Three Wheelin'

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by 991RDC
Make sure you get a good installer, it makes a difference with the finish product.