Need help appraising a 1994

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2016, 12:41 PM
Prelude Guy
Rennlist Member

Received 124 Likes on 82 Posts
Default Need help appraising a 1994

Hi guys,

I am new to 968's. I am at the point in my life where I want to try out cars I grew up with. Never really thought much about the 968, especially when they were new. However, I am not looking to experience rare cars.

I'm looking at a 1994 black on gray 968 with 152K miles. It has had the shocks and clutch replaced within the past 2 years, a new DVD headunit, newer rotors, and a few other minor things.

The current owner has had it for close to 10 years. Looks pretty well taken care of.

Major outstanding issue is the heatercore seems to be leaking. There is a leak in the passenger side footwell area.

Based on the brief description, approx. how much do you think this car is worth? Unfortunately, that's all I know about the car as of now. Hoping to check it out tomorrow.

Thanks!
Old 07-13-2016, 01:19 PM
PorscheG96
Race Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I personally dislike car listings in which seller cherry picks a couple of recent maintenance items when there's a million more things that can go wrong if not addressed. I despise even more when one of them is a stereo. Most stereos are installed by technically inept people who hack the electrical system and don't properly reinstall the interior pieces, or break them. The heater core repair is a pita, I'd skip this car...
Old 07-13-2016, 01:30 PM
Prelude Guy
Rennlist Member

I agree with you. Not a fan of aftermarket stereos. I prefer when the car hasn't taken apart because it rarely gets put back the way it was.

I am completely open to considering this car a project car. I can get parts pretty cheap, too. My friend owns a shop.

He listed it for $11K and didn't get any bites. Wondering what I should offer.

He is also completely open to me getting a PPI done on it, too.
Old 07-13-2016, 03:51 PM
LTDzak
Rennlist Member