Sponsored by:

Looking for C4 advice for a new member

Old 07-30-2016, 12:22 AM
Jeff323
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for C4 advice for a new member

Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting. I am looking for some advice on the potential purchase of an '89 C4. I've never owned a Porsche before, but it's been a bucket list car for me for a very long time. I've owned many German cars over the years, but now may be the time to take the plunge into the Porsche world.

I've tried to do a lot of research on 964's and especially C4's recently and think I'm fairly educated now, but having never ownened an air cooled 911 before I'm still a bit concerned and don't want to make a big mistake and get the wrong car. Admittedly a C4 wasn't my first choice (mainly from a maintenance and complexity standpoint), but I'm not opposed to owning one either if it's a good car. The story with the car in question is its owned by a friend of my wife's and because he knows I'm a big German car fan he randomly offered the car to me the other day. It sounds like I might be able to get it for under 30k too, so while a C4 scares me, the price makes it potentially worth it. I will be seeing it for the first time this weekend, but here's what I know so far...

It has a little over 160k miles on it, but the engine was completely rebuilt a few thousand miles ago and a new clutch was also installed.
A new windshield was installed recently as well and any rust that was found (very little from my understanding) in the channel was also repaired. It's said to run and drive very strong and to present itself as a good clean driver's car, but not concours quality.

Known issues are:

1) ABS light is on on the dash (I'm aware of the ABS and AWD issues these cars can have so that's a concern for me).

2) A/C doesn't work (not a big deal really).

3) HVAC blower motor speed has a mind of its own

4) Driver's seat side bolster is ripped or seem is split