I'm in the motor now

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 01:23 PM
-nick
Three Wheelin'

Received 104 Likes on 80 Posts
Default I'm in the motor now

Literally.

This original plan was to replace the timing chain cover gaskets. That escalated quickly... This is my first time into a flat-six engine. Absurdly more complicated than it seems that it should be. I'll keep this thread updated as I go along. Thanks to RocketRob for letting me borrow those amazing crank and cam special tools. And thanks to both he and Goughary for some behind the scenes advice. The patient is an 82k mile 1991 C4.

Here we go, in order of when I found something interesting-

I was surprised to find so much wear on the caps and rotors. I replaced these only 18,000 miles ago-

Here is an interesting one. Is this common? All of my intake "manifolds"/ injector holders / whatever you call them, have cracks in the plastic on the outside of each mounting bolt hole. Doesn't seem like it would affect the gasket seal.

Do these wet spots look indicative of through-bolt o-ring leaks? I was hoping that this would just be a quicky head rebuild.

Cam timing. Who came up with this nutty arrangement? Here is one side all painted up for battle.

I mounted my dial indicator to check the intake valve lift at TDC to see what the factory setting looked like. Factory manual says 1.26 +-0.1mm.

I got 1.24mm lift for cylinder #4 intake for the right side cam with exactly 0.1mm lash. Excellent.

And then there is the left cam. I set cylinder #1 intake to 0.1mm lash at TDC when the valve is closed. After 180 degrees of crank rotation, the lash has changed to 0mm. Hmm. The lobe doesn't come around until about 300+ degrees of crank rotation. Lash stayed at 0mm until the lobe came around and I measured 1.47mm lift. Not sure what is going on there. I'll have the cams checked when I pull them out.