964, hasn't been run in 6-8 years

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2020, 11:31 PM
dantheman15951
2nd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 964, hasn't been run in 6-8 years

Hey guys,

So, I just recently inherited my grandfathers 964 C4. It’s a beautiful car, and I couldn’t be more excited/honored to pick up where he left off! I’m completely new to cars, so just trying to absorb as much as I can from rennlist and other online forums.

Good news: while he was using the car, he kept it in excellent condition. Outside looks great, and he regularly got it looked at, replaced parts, and generally put a significant investment into keeping it running.

Bad news: due to his health, it was sitting in his garage for the past several years (6-8?) essentially unused. Last my father heard from him, there was apparently some sort of non-critical electrical leak, which doesn’t seem completely uncommon after looking through the forum a bit.

Naturally, the car does not start. I went ahead and purchased a new battery, which I plan to put in in a couple days. I wanted to get advice on what other things I should be doing, especially what things I should be doing before I try to turn the car on:
  • Oil: I’ve noticed that most oil change guides recommend running the car a bit to get the oil warmed up, and then emptying the oil tank to get as much oil out as possible. So should I run the car first (assuming it runs), then empty the oil, or just skip the running step, considering how old the oil must be?
  • I also read something about jumping the fuel pump relay. Should I be doing this?/should I do this before starting the car?/how do I do it?
  • I also ordered transmission fluid, hydraulic system fluid, brake fluid, and an air filter. I’m guessing I’m good to just replace these before running?
  • Anything else I’m missing, or any tips for a Porsche beginner?

Thanks so much to anyone willing to answer these basic questions!!
The following users liked this post:
klokwerk (06-04-2020)