Notices
944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

1983 Porsche 944, won't start, don't know why.

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2012, 10:36 PM
giordon
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1983 Porsche 944, won't start, don't know why.

hello everyone, im new to rennlist and i'm hoping somebody on here will be able to help me out. i purchased a 1983 944 and for some reason the car wont startup. the problem is not the battery, headlights work, radio works etc. but for some reason the sparks plugs are not putting out anything when i try to start it, everything else seems to work. i have taken it to multiple mechanics who were unable to help. i have already put in a new distributor cap, as well as replaced the speed censor, and the reference censor. if anyone has an idea on why it won't start please help, thank you.
Old 07-21-2012, 03:46 AM
kennedope
Track Day

http://www.944online.com/cgi-bin/for...7832;start=0#0

Tried all this yet? I'm in the same position right now and looking for an answer, working my way down that list
Old 07-21-2012, 05:25 AM
4porsche4life
Intermediate

Make sure spark plugs are not foweled and test ignition coil to see if its still good... Sometimes the rotor locking screw (or locking screw to the cam) gets loose as well check that too...
Old 07-21-2012, 05:57 AM
peanut
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

welcome to the forums ...sorry to hear that you have problems though.

These cars have the Bosch Motronic fuel injection and ignition systems which are quite complex.
Basically the ECU (electronic Control Unit) controls both the fuel delivery and the ignition system dependant on the input from numerous sensors and its own programming.

First make sure that you are using a very good battery and that the earthing points are clean because if the engine doesn't crank over at at least 200rpm the ECU will prevent the car starting .