Notices
924 and 931 Forum 1976-1988

Let's Liven up This Forum, tell us about your 924!

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2001, 04:47 PM
Mich924S
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Let's Liven up This Forum, tell us about your 924!

Well I'm kind of new to the Porsche theme but not too knew. I just traded a motorcycle for a 1987 924S black with the black leatherette and cloth seats. The car is in immaculate condition. The paint looks brand new. The car has about 37,000 actual miles on it and the interior is almost flawless. It looks like a brand new car. There is a very small crack in the dash about 1 inch long but other than that the interior is perfect. The front lower valence is bent and needs replacing but I can see how that gets that way with parking and curbs. Does the Pelican Part replacement fit directly and is it black? The car was stored for 4 years or so but I have driven it around and I'm getting it thoroughly brought up to date. It does not leak one little drop of anything, it's that clean. It does need 2 rear tires. I wanted a black porsche and I found this on the net and offered the trade and he took it. He delivered it and picked up my bike. My dad had an 82 924, silver, and when I was a kid, I thought that car was fast of course I know a bit better now. Why does the 924S have such a lower value to a comparable year 944, after 1987? Any hints? Anyways, that's my story so let's hear about your 924!
Old 11-09-2001, 03:15 PM
sam
Advanced

There is not too much activity on this board. I usually lurk on the 924/944/951/968 watercooled board. Some of the 944 crowd don't know what a 924-S is, so when soliciting info, don't be too specific about the vehicle.

You might want to think (real hard) about replacing the balance shaft and camshaft belts. A failure of a cam belt gets kinda expensive to fix. (8 bent valves, and a lot of labor).

BTW, I have 2 87 924-S, Black on Black. I love them.
Old 11-09-2001, 09:54 PM
Tabor
Drifting