Notices

The H4 Lighting Roundup (from 944 forum)

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2007, 12:25 AM
Wipeout
Not Special
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default The H4 Lighting Roundup

We’ve had a lot of discussion here at the ‘list (and elsewhere) about how to improve lighting in our 924/944/951/whatever. I thought I’d put together a compilation of what we’ve all said before…and what my experience has been. Besides, pictures are worth a thousand words anyway! One note…I’m DEFINITELY not an engineer – I have a degree in communication. So, this is not a technical article; while I’ve made my best effort to make sure this is technically accurate, caveat emptor. With that said, let’s begin!

Want to know what the single best thing you can do for your lights is? Buy a lighting harness. Essentially, it’s a bigger set of wires that you connect into your alternator, to your driver’s side OEM plug, the grounding lug on your frame, and the backs of your lights. The stock Porsche wiring leaves a little to be desired, it’s not very thick and there’s a voltage drop from it running all the way into your cabin (to the light switch), then back to your lights. Bigger wires help all that electricity get to the lights without the drop in voltage. The extra ground makes the circuit more efficient – it doesn’t have to travel as far to ground!

Rennbay sells the harness. Other places sell them, too…and the equipment you need is available if you feel like making it yourself.

Next step is new lenses.

Lens on the left is an E-Code lens, lens on the right is a VisionPLUS:

The view with no lights: