911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Any reason to stay away from a 74-77' ?

Old 08-27-2016, 02:47 PM
Hulley
Instructor

Received 28 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Any reason to stay away from a 75-77' ?

I've been hunting for a 911 for a few months now, doing a ton of research here and on PP. I kinda had it in my head to go with a SC or later G50 model but anywhere I can save a few bucks would be nice for future maintenance and upgrades.

The car is a 1977 911s, GR, 2.7l that had a top-end rebuild recently, 915 that was rebuilt in 07' with new clutch and a glass out respray (original color) in 07'. $35k. Car is local so I like the idea of not having to buy sight unseen or spending the additional money on airfare and/or shipping. 122k miles
Name:  636059953094599432.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  229.7 KB

I've seen this car in person and it's pretty nice, I didn't give it a real close look because of thinking I wanted a SC, but this car is pretty sharp and fits the bill nicely. I have some ideas in my head for "My" 911 and this car would work. I'm really wanting to build an Outlaw style car but everything would be bolt on so that I could restore to original when I wanted to. I like how this car has a COA. And honestly, I could leave this car the way it is and enjoy the hell out of it.

What says RL?

Last edited by Hulley; 08-30-2016 at 10:46 PM. Reason: added milage
Old 08-27-2016, 03:15 PM
r911
Anti-Cupholder League

Received 117 Likes on 100 Posts

the good news is somebody painted over the sugar scoops!

Calif. mid-year cars (except IIRC the '74) had thermal reactors on them and the engines often need expensive machining

tho maybe that has already been done or it was not imported thru a Calif. port - you can run the VIN to find out

a '74 is my fav middie year due to lack of thermal reactors and being lighter - they used to be overlooked sleeper cars for lower prices