911 carrera im looking at...

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2016, 01:35 PM
stvsxm
Intermediate

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 911 carrera im looking at...

hi,
am a well experienced engineer/ import car mechanic now retired. did a lot of Porsche work in the 70's and 80's but never owned one. have had an offer to buy a 1999 Carrera cabriolet at a price I think is cheap but not sure as I have no experience with this car.
first... car is not in the US and neither am I. I am retired to the carribean and the car is here. it was imported from Italy by the original owner when he retired here. the car presents as beautifully kept. both interior and exterior are 9.5 out of 10 . car has 160,000 kms on it ( 96,000 miles). have not driven it but I have seen it driving around until the owner parked it some months ago. when I looked at it today it started ( barely ) on a nearly dead battery and sounded crisp but won't idle at all. all the mechanicals look clean and dry. no leaks or any evidence of amateur maintainance. all the instruments work . interesting to me is that it has a 5 speed and I thought they were all 6 speed... if you looked at the car but didn't see the odometer you would think the car has 40,000 miles on it. so assuming the worst... lets say it needs a battery and that there is some sort of electrical drain that's causing it . lets say it needs a clutch and brake pads and a major general service... the tires are good at about 1/2 depth. the exhaust sounded a bit loud to me but it ran out of battery before I could restart it to check anything. ... he wants 10 grand but I am positive I could buy it for 9k ... its not exactly suited for the island but its a neat car and I wouldn't mind owning it. are there any major things that these cars " do" that I need to look at first and , what do you think this car is really worth ?

thx
steve
Old 07-30-2016, 09:06 PM
Drisump
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post