Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Oil lines cold when engine is hot

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2014, 03:37 AM
Kishme79
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Oil lines cold when engine is hot

I have a 1986 911 with 62k miles on it. I am new to the air cooled 911s. I am trying to figure out my oil consumption. I noticed that after driving the car for2 hours, the oil lines under the front fender are cold while the engine is hot. The car has over heated only twice both times the car was stuck in stop and go for 2 hours. Is this normal? Or do I need a new thermostat?
Old 11-19-2014, 08:15 AM
upier
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Kishme79
I have a 1986 911 with 62k miles on it. I am new to the air cooled 911s. I am trying to figure out my oil consumption. I noticed that after driving the car for2 hours, the oil lines under the front fender are cold while the engine is hot. The car has over heated only twice both times the car was stuck in stop and go for 2 hours. Is this normal? Or do I need a new thermostat?
Yes, that sounds like a bad thermostat. Could be fun to change. The oil lines weld themselves to the old one.
Old 11-19-2014, 09:08 AM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,021 Likes on 726 Posts

yeah do some research on this if you are not having a shop do it . definitely sounds like the stat has failed given your symptoms.
Old 11-19-2014, 12:28 PM
Kishme79
Intermediate

Thanks everyone. Since the car generally drives at the right temp, could only the thermostat for the front cooler be failing? Sometimes the oil lines are warm and other times are cold. Makes it hard to get accurate readings on oil. I use the car a lot so I just want to mak sure I take care of her. Going from a 996 to a air cooled 911 is a learning experience.

Thanks again for all your help.
Old 11-19-2014, 01:01 PM
User 4221
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 47 Likes on 29 Posts