Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cost to replace evaporator core, expansion valve and dryer bottle

Old 08-16-2010, 04:26 PM
kylejohnston1
Racer

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Cost to replace evaporator core, expansion valve and dryer bottle

Took my 964 into a local Porsche indy shop for an a/c service. The shop has been around for over 30 years and seems to have an excellent reputation. I'm not very knowledgeable when it comes to a/c so I am just trying to do my homework...

The quote was $2561 to replace the evaporator core, expansion valve and dryer bottle.

They also recommended using Freeze 12 instead of converting to R134a and said it would cost more and probably not cool as well if I wanted to do the 134a conversion.

What is everyones take on the price I was quoted and the comments regarding Freeze 12 vs 134a? Thanks in advance for any suggestions or input...

Kyle
Old 08-16-2010, 04:48 PM
911Jetta
Rennlist Member

Received 485 Likes on 278 Posts

I'm not an AC expert but recently had my system converted to R134a...

I've had the car for 3+ years and in that time my AC has slowly lost its ability to cool, so I was faced with either finding R12 or converting to R134a? I was worried it would cost $$$$$$.

I took it to a shop that services German cars, but in no way specializes in Porsches...they found no major leaks or problems in the system and started the conversion. The R12 to R143a conversion took over 1 1/2 hrs. - to suck everything out, test pressure, etc.). New fitting were put on and I was on my way for $113.

It's been three weeks since and I'm still blowing ice cubes.
Old 08-16-2010, 05:42 PM
J richard
Rennlist Member

Received 39 Likes on 28 Posts