Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

997.2 Oil Change process explained

Old 06-07-2009, 08:21 PM
racer10
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997.2 Oil Change process explained

Hi I am new to the porsche world with my recent purchase of a 2009 c4s. I would love to do my own oil and filter changes as I did on my corvettes but I am not sure I understand the right steps , particularly with the filter on the engine top. Can anyone walk me thru the steps ,the parts and any special tools I would need. Much appreciated if anyone knows, thankyou.
Old 06-07-2009, 09:32 PM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

Received 228 Likes on 124 Posts

Let me be the first to suggest that you do a search within the Rennlist on that very topic. The other issue someone else is bound to get after you about,--posting a photo of your car, etc.

The oil change issue gets revisited quite often and it's a lot easier for everyone if you simply search for it. Here--I found it in about 45 seconds:

https://rennlist.com/forums/997-foru...the-997-a.html
Old 06-07-2009, 10:45 PM
racer10
AutoX

Thankyou for the advise on the picture of the car I did not understand the protocol. Also I already read the post you found but it is not for a 997.2 model rather it is for a 997 in other words not a DFI engine . Thanks anyway for your attempt to help me.
Old 06-07-2009, 10:56 PM
OCBen
Banned

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by racer10
Also I already read the post you found but it is not for a 997.2 model rather it is for a 997 in other words not a DFI engine . Thanks anyway for your attempt to help me.
It's the same process you dimwit. Drain the oil, replace the filter, add new oil. The critical part is the adding of oil, which this procedure covers quite thoroughly, if I say so myself, and in precise detail covering the intricacies of the electronic oil gauge which you need to be mindful of.
Old 06-07-2009, 11:31 PM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

I give up! I thought it was obvious, too.